Water fees increase

Town of Cleveland

The Cleveland Town Council held its regular monthly meeting on Jan. 10.

Mayor Jerry Jones and utilities supervisor Steve Pass presented the council with a proposal to increase fees and deposits in the water department. The proposed increases that were submitted were:

• Return check fee raised from $30 to $35

• Non-payment or cut-off fee from $25 to $30

• Reconnection fee from $25 to $30

• Transfer fee from $35 to $40

• Raise deposit for a property owner from $75 to $100

• Raise deposit for a renter from $150 to $200

• Raise deposit for sewer use from $75-$100

The council also considered adding a new fee of $75 for after-hour call outs to reconnect a property to the water system after it had been shut off for non-payment. The mayor and Pass explained the cost of paying an employee overtime to go out after normal business hours cost the town at least that much. Jones said the new fees would be “in line with what other water departments charge.” The council passed all increases unanimously.

Jones discussed the town’s noise permit fee. Currently it costs $5 to apply for a permit. He asked it be raised to $25, and the council agreed to that increase without dissent.

Councilman James Bynum reported that the new telephone system the council had approved previously would be installed in late February or early March.

Jones presented the council with a bill from the town’s insurance provider, AMIC Insurance Agency. The cost was $41,860 for one year of coverage, but if the town paid for three years in advance, it would save over $700. The council opted to take advantage of the savings and voted to pay for three years.

Two representatives from the Lions Club International North Alabama District, Ron Seybold and Tim Sosebee, spoke to the council about a new Lions Club being formed in the county that would include Cleveland, Locust Fork, and Nectar. Those seeking more information about the club should contact Seybold at lionron@bellsouth.net or 256- 531-6075.

The council is composed of the mayor and councilors Bynum, Sherry White, Doug Hill, Tommy Swindle, and James Sullivan. All were present. The council’s regular meeting is the second Thursday of every month at 7 p.m. at the town hall.