Retirement resignations accepted

Blount County Board of Education

The Blount County Board of Education accepted several retirement resignations during Monday’s regular meeting.

A total of 11 retirement resignations were accepted. Those accepted were: Susan King Davis, library media specialist, and Regenia Diann Evans, teacher, Hayden Middle; Rebecca C. Head and Belinda Lecroy, teachers, Hayden Primary; Shirley Horton and Jane Martin, teachers, Susan Moore Elementary; Linda Melvin, Child Nutrition Program manager, Southeastern Elementary; Barbara Jean Self, Child Nutrition Program employee, Blountsville Elementary; and Doris Cornelius, teacher, Locust Fork High.

All of the resignations are effective June 1.

In other business, the board acted on the recommendation of Superintendent Jim Carr and:

•awarded the bid for a certificate of deposit to HomeTown Bank at a rate of 2.25 AYP.

•allowed two students to transfer to the Jefferson County School system for the 2009-2010 school year. The Blount County Board will not assume liability in relation to these releases.

•employed Kassie L. Holmes as a substitute teacher for secondary science teacher Brittany Copeland, Susan Moore High, beginning approximately April 20 and continuing through May 29.

•approved summer workshop opportunities for system teachers during the months of June and July.

•approved the 2009-2010 school calendar (Draft A).

•contracted with Mitchie Neel to work 10 days to complete ongoing projects in the central office. The work should be completed between April 7 and July 31 and she will be paid at her 2008-2009 daily rate.

•approved elementary and high school language arts textbook committees for 2008-2009.

•approved the Locust Fork High School cheerleader field trip request for cheerleading camp, June 1 through June 4 at UAB.

•granted a catastrophic leave of absence to J.B. Pennington teacher Jennifer Smith, beginning April 20 and continuing through May 28.

Finally, the board contracted with Stephen Ward & Associates Inc. to serve as the roofing engineer for partial roof replacement projects at Southeastern Elementary and Locust Fork Elementary schools. A copy of the contract is on file in the superintendent’s office.

Present at the April 6 meeting were board members Andy Neill, Gregg Armstrong, Chris Latta, Bruce McAfee, and Craig Johnson, Carr, assistant superintendent Rodney Green, board secretary Karla Latham, honor students from throughout the system, and several parents and visitors.