Personnel approved for new school year


The Blount County Board of Education approved the hiring of nine employees during last week’s called meeting.

Among the employees approved was Christopher Ashley as band director/ music teacher at Locust Fork High School. Ashley, who previously served as band director at Etowah High, takes the place of long-time band director Alvin McKinney who resigned last month to take the same position at Douglas High School in Marshall County.

Other personnel approved were: Sylvia Leigh Kennedy, special education aide, Hayden Primary; Christina Baker Watson, early childhood teacher, Hayden Primary; Margaret Self Battles, teacher, Hayden Elementary; Bryon Smith, math teacher, J.B. Pennington High; Kimberly Bates, teacher, Locust Fork Elementary; Stephanie Self, long-term substitute teacher, J.B. Pennington High; Stefanie L. Weston, long-term substitute teacher, Appalachian High; and Crystal Cowan, library aide, Susan Moore High.

In addition, the board hired William Parkins as a utility school bus driver for the system.

In other personnel moves, the board accepted the resignation of Appalachian instructional aide Tammy E. Dailey and transferred teacher Deborah Hill from Hayden Elementary to Locust Fork Elementary. The board also transferred Blountsville Elementary special education aide Laura Tedder to a teaching position at the school.

In other business, the board acted on the recommendation of Supt. Jim Carr and:

•paid $9200 for School Superintendents of Alabama membership dues for the 2010-2011 school year.

•approved a field trip request for 45 members of the Cleveland High band to attend a parade competition in Disney World May 11-15, 2011.

•allowed a student to transfer to the St. Clair County system for the 2010-2011 school year with the stipulation that the Blount County Board assumes no liability in relation to the transfer.

•approved J.B. Pennington High’s credit recovery plan Summer on Saturdays.

•approved paying $20 per hour, not to exceed 40 hours per person, to John Gregory Neill and Connie Millwood (math), William Smitherman and Connie Millwood (history), Justin Miller and DeWon Farmer (science), and Sharon Collins and DeWon Farmer (English) for teaching and/or supervising Summer on Saturdays credit recovery at J.B. Pennington.

•paid Christy Stidham and Sharon Smith $1000 each for the development of A+ lessons for middle school technology modules with approval required before payment. Funds will come from FY10 Title II, Part A funds.

•agreed to pay $125 to Tina Morton for attending the J.B. Pennington summer leadership team retreat. She will be paid from the school’s FY2010 Title I funds.

•approved Terri Patterson as a band camp clinician at J.B. Pennington from July 27 – July 30. She will be paid $400 from the school’s local funds.

•entered into a partnership agreement with the Snead State Community College science division for the project IMPACTSEED (Improving Physics and Chemistry Teaching in Secondary Education).

•contracted with Angela P. Naccari to teach children with hearing loss from Oct. 1, 2010, through Sept. 30, 2011. She will be paid $110 per hour of auditory therapy, $55 per hour of travel, $110 per hour of consultation with school personnel, $190 per hour of evaluation with written report, plus travel from IDEA Part B and/or general funds.

•contracted with James E. Harris, Janie Smith, and Nan Adamson to provide psychological evaluations from Aug. 1, 2010, through July 31, 2011. Each will be paid $90 per evaluation, not to exceed $18,000, from IDEA Part B and/or ARRA funds.

•contracted with Brenda Mackentepe to perform achievement testing for students referred for special education services from Aug. 1, 2010, through July 31, 2011. She will be paid $35 per test from IDEA Part B and/or general funds.

•contracted with Kerry Mataya, Autism Asperger Syndrome Consulting Group, LLC, to provide observations and reports of behavioral recommendations for autism spectrum disorders from Aug. 1, 2010, through July 31, 2011. She will be paid $50 per hour from IDEA Part B or ARRA funds or the general fund.

•contracted with Sonya Boatright and Libby Moon to serve student during athletic practices or events on an as-needed basis from Aug. 1, 2010, through May 26, 2011. Each will be paid $25 per hour plus mileage from the general fund.

•allowed Locust Fork Elementary and Locust Fork High to contract with Cook’s Pest Control. •approved Mallory O’Toole as majorette routine instructor during the 2010-2011 school year. She will be paid $380 plus fringe benefits from Susan Moore High’s local funds.

•approved Gregory Gammon and Kara Miller to serve as workers for Cleveland High’s 2010 band camp. Each will be paid $300 plus fringe benefits from the school’s local funds.

•approved Dusty Cornelius, Don Henderson, Heath Lauderdale, Donald Lochamy, Todd O’Bryant, Walter Roach, Andrew Wall, and Brian Weems as noncompensated volunteers to work with the Cleveland High football program during the 2010-2011 school year.

•approved Ricky Bottomlee, Brandon Kirk, James Parker, Jack (Chuck) Stewart, and Ashleigh Ward as noncompensated volunteers at Hayden High during the 2010-2011 school year.

Finally, the board contracted with JanPak Solutions at the bid amount of $34,721.32 for paper products from Aug. 2, 2010, through June 3, 2011.

Present at the July 22 meeting were board members Andy Neill, Gregg Armstrong, Bruce McAfee, Chris Latta, and Craig Johnson, board secretary Karla Latham, and several visitors.