Oneonta hires summer workers, issues proclamations

The Oneonta City Council has approved employing 26 summer workers, most as lifeguards, at the city pool. Beside selecting Terri Hubauer (manager), C.J. Hubauer (assistant manager), Stephanie Gilliland and Jessica Morrison (both assistant managers and swim team coaches), councilors accepted its other park and recreation board recommendations for the remaining 22 slots.

Councilman Mark Gargus read the names and moved their selection. The council, with one abstention, voted to endorse and accept those recommended. They will employ Ethan Cassady, Gemma Coulls, Max Coulls, James Dailey, Mallory Edmondson, Tim Gipson, Michael Hellums, Jonathan Hubauer, Judd Hunt, Caleb Hullett, Jordan Kelly, Anna Logan, Jessica Lauderdale, Zachary McMinn, Justin Malek, Adam NeSmith, Melissa Price, Deston Putman, Nolen Smith, Hannah Thomas, Jake Thomas, and Zachary Thomas. Gargus praised the choices, all of whom have lifeguard certification and many of whom have worked previously at the pool.

The council added former firefighter Jake Jones to its list of part-time employees. Jones left the city for full-time work elsewhere but will continue as an available part-time worker for the OFD. Members also voted to employ Elizabeth Hopewell for summer work at the city library.

Councilors voted to advertise the position of head of circulation at the library. That position became open with the selection of Gail Sheldon as library director. Council discussion suggested that slot may be filled in-house.

Mayor Darryl Ray praised town clerk Tammie Noland, as the council declared May 3-9 as “Municipal Clerks Week.” The council also belatedly named April 25 “Parental Alienation Awareness Day.”

In response to questions by new Oneonta Business Association president Bill Gillmore, city manager Ed Lowe announced the city anticipates completion of downtown revitalization projects by the fall. Lowe further explained steps in the city’s bid to obtain funds for a new senior citizens building and efforts for a transportation enhancement grant for a walking track and landscaping at the city ballfields and park area.

All council members (Gargus, Ray, Hal Buckelew, Tim McNair, Ross Norris, and Danny Robinson) attended the April 28 meeting. The council holds its regular sessions the second and fourth Tuesdays of each month at 5:30 p.m.