Oneonta hires summer pool and concession workers

Oneonta councilman Mark Gargus read a list of recommended employees and won unanimous approval to hire the almost 50 summer workers. The workers will staff the summer concessions, serve at the city’s pool, and work on the ballfields and at the recreation center.

Marie Walden returns as manager for the ballpark and recreation center assisted by Anna Logan. The remaining employees are: Emily Bender, Cassie Bowling, Shelby Bryant, Grant Hardeman, Douglas Hawks, Cole Hogeland, Samantha Jackson, Destin Mendoza, Eric Ne- Smith, Morgan Posey, Julian Reid, Nathan Rhudy, Tahira Robles, Dimonique Sanders, Jacob Simmons, Caitlin Smith, Karina Smith, Tyler Smith, Trent Sweatt, Jason Walden, Sharon Whaley, Megan Young, and Cinthia Zavala.

All pool employees have CPR certification and are qualified lifeguards. Stephanie Gilliland will manage the pool again, joined by Barbara Sanders as her assistant, with Jordan Kelly, Adam NeSmith, and Deston Putman as supervisors. The remaining employees are: Bryan “B.A.” Corr, Walker Edmondson, Grant Gargus, Hunter Gibbs, Alex Gilliland, Tim Gipson, Patrick Hubauer, Hannah Huie, Jessica Lauderdale, Dana Nash, Katlyn Nation, Chance Payne, Abbie Phillips, Joshua Schatz, Peyton

Shelton, Laura Short, Whitney Smith, Jake Thomas, and Audriannah Willis.

Gargus, who coordinates between the council and the park and recreation board, explained the city needs so many workers to provide opportunities for vacation time and other activities the employees will need to attend during the summer. The council added Chris Hardeman to the park and recreation board, assuming the seat formerly held by Pat Henderson, who has moved outside the city.

City manager Ed Lowe reported the city has won approval for a GPS approach at Robbins Field. He explained this will permit the airport to have instrument approach. He said the lighting contractor has begun work on the downtown grant renovation, reported demolition of the “scout hut,” and decried the delay in work on the girls’ softball field due to inclement weather. In a matter beyond the city limits, he announced the repaving of Alabama 75 from the county line to south of Allgood had been awarded to Whitaker Construction.

All council members (Gargus, Hal Buckelew, Tim McNair, Ross Norris, and Danny Robinson) joined Mayor Darryl Ray for the March 8 meeting. The council holds its regular sessions the second and fourth Tuesdays of each month at 5:30 p.m. in city hall.