New storm shelters installed

During the July council meeting, Mayor Jerry Jones announced that the installation of the town’s two new storm shelters had begun. The shelters, which are connected to each other, are located at the town park. Jones also announced that the town will host an Open House at some point in the next several weeks so that citizens can have the opportunity to see the new structures. The official date and time for this event will be announced soon.

In other business, Councilman Tommy Swindle, who also serves as the head of the park and recreation board, reported that the board is currently preparing for the annual Labor Day Barbecue, which will be held this year on Saturday, Sept. 1. Swindle added there will be a bigger emphasis on activities for children during the festivities this year. More details will be available at the August council meeting.

In addition to the storm shelter report, the grant committee told the council that the town still has two open grant applications. The first is for a new walking track at the park. The other is for a storm shelter specifically for first responders, which would be installed at the town hall.

A motion was passed by the council to replace the sign in front of the town hall, for a cost of no more than $1,000.

As required by state law, Mayor Jones turned over the official municipal election duties, as well as the absentee ballot duties, to town clerk Debra Millwood, since Jones is running for another term as mayor.

The council was notified that only one person filed a statement of candidacy for council places 1, 2, 4, and 5. Councilman Doug Hill, in place 3, will face opposition from Ricky Gulledge. Jones’s opposition is Wayne Owens.

Resolutions and certificate of election were adopted for each that were unopposed – Eldridge Bynum in Place 1, Sherry White in Place 2, Tommy Swindle in Place 4, and Glenn Puckett in Place 5. A resolution was also passed to appoint four election officials – Marlin Robertson, Libby Blackwood, Edwina Bryan, and Barbara Johnson. Eva Jean Robertson and Tracy Sherrer are the two alternates.

The general fund and water department financial statements for June were given to the council members for their review.

Council members attending the July 19 meeting, in addition to the mayor and Swindle, were Mike Evans and Doug Hill. Kandy Little was absent.

The next council meeting will be Thursday, Aug. 16, at 7 p.m.