Murphree qualifies as Beason withdraws; three more qualify for county jobs

Sen. Scott Beason

Sen. Scott Beason

State Senate District 17: Sen. Scott Beason announced Friday he will not seek a third term in the Alabama Senate. District 17 includes northern Jefferson County, the southern twothirds of Blount County, and the western portion of St. Clair County.

Beason said in a prepared statement that he plans to continue to promote the conservative principles he was associated with in his eight-year term of office. Beason defeated former Sen. Jack Biddle in 2006 to win the seat.

Qualifying to run for the District 17 seat vacated by Beason were two candidates with Oneonta ties: local insurance agency owner Jim Murphree and Trussville real estate businessman Shay Shelnutt. Shelnutt is also a former teacher and coach, including a stint at Oneonta High School.

Below is the list of all candidates who have qualified as of Tuesday to run for county offices and legislative offices affecting Blount County. No Democratic candidates have qualified to run for any office shown. The deadline for qualifying for both parties is Friday, Feb. 7.

State Senate District 9: In the election involving Blount County Senate District 9, incumbent Clay Scofield qualified last week for re-election to the seat.

U.S. House District 6: In this seat, left vacant by the resignation last year of Spencer Bachus, two candidates have qualified to run: current Alabama Rep. Paul DeMarco of Homewood and Chad Mathis, an Indian Springs physician specializing in sports medicine. Three more qualify for county office

Since last week, three more candidates have qualified for county jobs. Blount County Board of Education, District 3 (Susan Moore): Magen Horton-Stewart of Susan Moore will oppose incumbent Bruce McAfee. Blount County Sheriff: Mike “Cookie” Crawford will oppose incumbent Loyd Arrington. Coroner: LaShone Price, owner of Snead Funeral Home will oppose incumbent John Mark Vaughn, who qualified on Jan. 17 for re-election to the position. His name was omitted in error last week in The Blount Countian’s listing of candidates.

Qualified candidates for county offices as of Tuesday, Feb. 4.

Sheriff (I) Loyd Arrington, Mike Crawford

Commissioner, District 1 (I) Allen Armstrong

Commissioner, District 3 (I) Dean Calvert, Patrick Bryant, Pat Hyde

Revenue Commissioner (I) Gregg Armstrong, Ann Self

Blount County Board of Education, District 3 (I) Bruce McAfee, Magen Horton-Stewart

Coroner (I) John Mark Vaughn, LaShone Price

State Representative, District 11 (I) Randall Shedd

State Representative, District 13 (I) Bill Roberts

State Representative, District 27 Will Ainsworth

State Representative, District 34 (I) David Standridge

State Senator, District 9 (I) Clay Scofield

State Senator, District 17 Jim Murphree, Shay Shelnutt

(I) = Incumbent