Local candidates begin qualifying process

Eight candidates for local office have filed with the Blount County probate office forms designating themselves chairmen of their campaign committees.

To qualify for the June 1 primary election, candidates must also file with their respective party organizations by April 2 paperwork that will be turned in to the probate office to trigger the priniting of candidate names on the ballot.

The deadline for the party to turn the material in to the probate office is April 7. It is not unusual for some candidates to qualify on the last day.

Candidates who had identified themselves as heading their campaign committees, as of 4 p.m. Tuesday, are given below. All are Republicans.
District 1 County Commissioner
• Mark Allen Armstrong
• David Cochran (incumbent)

District 3 County Commissioner
• Arthur Dean Calvert
• Ralph Moore
• Tom Ryan (incumbent)
Blount County Sheriff
• Loyd Arrington (incumbent)
• William Randall Hosey
Blount County Board of Education, Dist. 4
• Gregg Armstrong (incumbent)
Blount County Board of Education, Dist. 5
• Chris Latta (incumbent)
Blount County coroner
• none to date

Blount County district attorney is a state office with qualifying handled through the state party organizations. The Alabama secretary of state will notify the Blount County probate office by April 12 of qualifying candidates for inclusion on the local ballot. Four candidates are campaigning: