Hayden teacher named finalist

Alabama teacher of the year

Hayden teacher Lisa Hargett

Hayden teacher Lisa Hargett

Hayden Elementary teacher Lisa Hargett has been named one of 16 finalists for the state teacher of the year. Hargett, a fourth-grade teacher, was named the winner of the district elementary teacher of the year and automatically qualifies for state consideration.

“It’s just such a tremendous honor,” she said. “I’m so thankful to the system I work in for shaping the way I teach through the use of technology they have supplied to us. This is a wonderful system to teach in and Hayden is a great place to teach.”

A graduate of Mortimer Jordan High School, Hargett has been teaching for 16 years, including the last 13 in the Hayden system. Her husband Allen is principal of Hayden High School.



In all, 141 teachers were nominated to be Alabama’s 2009-2010 Teacher of the Year, according to the Alabama Department of Education.

“These 16 teachers are top-notch examples of a true commitment to teaching and real innovation in classroom learning,” said State Superintendent of Education Dr. Joe Morton. “I am very proud of the finalists and what they do to make a difference every day for the children of Alabama.”

The teacher-of-the-year honor will be awarded during a ceremony to be broadcast live statewide on May 13. The 2009 Stars in Education program will be held at the Renaissance Hotel and Convention Center in Montgomery. The event will be hosted by the Alabama Department of Education and Alabama Public Television (APT) and will also feature APT’s Young Heroes Awards.

An elementary teacher and a secondary teacher were named from each of the eight state Board of Education districts. The 16 finalists are:

•District I – Debra S. Howell, Elsie Collier Elementary School, Mobile County; Glen M. Mutchnick, Clark School of Mathematics, Science, and Technology, Mobile County

•District II – Nancy Crutchfield, Ogletree Elementary School, Auburn City; Revonda L. Sutton, South Girard School, Phenix City

•District III – Shannon Finley, Alexandria Elementary, Calhoun County; Virginia Ann Vilardi, Wetumpka High School, Elmore County

•District IV – Ann Marie Corgill, Riverchase Elementary School, Hoover City; Stephanie Tara Tidwell, Ramsay High School, Birmingham City

•District V – Jennifer G. Rodopoulos, Forest Avenue Elmentary School, Montgomery County; Yung Thi Bui-Kincer, Booker T. Washington Magnet High School, Montgomery County

•District VI – Lisa Ann Hargett, Hayden Elementary School, Blount County; Cheryl Morrow, Spain Park High School, Hoover City

•District VII – Dr. Holly G. Morgan, Memorial Park Elementary School, Jasper City; Kathy Hays, Cherokee High School, Colbert County

•District VIII – Kim Bowen, Rainbow Elementary School, Madison City; Madelene M. Marcus, Liberty Middle School, Madison City