Defensive Player of the Year and first team named

Appalachian’s Cameron Cox named Defensive Player of the Year.

Appalachian’s Cameron Cox named Defensive Player of the Year.

Last week, we unveiled the Player of the Year (Chas Cornelius), Offensive Player of the Year (Alvin Scott), and Coach of the Year (Mark O’Bryant) for the 2010 football season.

Today, we release the Defensive Player of the Year and The Blount Countian’s All County First Team.

Appalachian’s Cameron Cox is the Defensive Player of the Year. The junior led the Eagles to a playoff appearance at quarterback but also starred on the defensive side of the ball.

From his safety position, the 6’3, 190-pounder collected more than 40 tackles and recovered two fumbles. However, he also led the county with six interceptions, had a touchdown return, and blocked a kick.

Eagle head coach Ernie Willingham says the junior is as good a player as he has ever coached.

Defensive Player of the Year – Cameron Cox, Jr, Appalachian

QB – Schyler Walker, Jr, Oneonta
RB – Isaac Veitch, Sr, Hayden
RB – Luke Awtry, Sr, Cleveland
WR – Thomas Horton, Sr, Cleveland
WR – Cody Sanders, Sr, Susan Moore
TE – Billy Frederick, Jr, Appalachian
TE – Aaron Whitt, Sr, Hayden
OL – Cory King, Jr, Appalachian
OL – Patrick Hubauer, Sr, Oneonta
OL – Cody Steele, Sr, Susan Moore

OL – Abram Hernandez, Sr, Cleveland
OL – Dakota Stewart, Sr, Hayden
Athlete – Jonathan Metzler, Sr, Appalachian
K – Luis Guerra, Jr, Appalachian, and Lee Mitchell, Jr,
DL – Carlos Hinojosa, Sr, Susan Moore
DL – Canaan Beavers, Sr, Cleveland
DL – Blaise Brown, So, Oneonta
DL – Hunter Wesson, Sr, Cleveland
DL – Jordan Jones, Sr, Hayden
LB – Josh Richardson, Sr, Cleveland
LB – Freddy Hernandez, Jr, Susan Moore
LB – Michael Frederick, Jr, Appalachian
LB – Dustin Sivley, Sr, J.B. Pennington
LB – Matthew Checkley, Sr, Locust Fork
DB – T.J. Sorensen, Sr, J.B. Pennington
DB – Zac Whited, Sr, Oneonta
DB – Josh Biles, Sr, Locust Fork
DB – Zac Henderson, Sr, Hayden
Athlete – Walker Musso, Jr, Oneonta
P – Seth Gardner, Sr, Hayden
The first team selections and players of the year will be
honored on Wednesday, Feb. 16, in the J.B. Pennington High
School auditorium. A reception will follow in the school
lunchroom. The event is sponsored by Superior Bank.
The second team and honorable mention selections will
be announced next week.