Control of Susan Moore Park returned to town

Blount County Board of Education

At the request of the town council, the Blount County Board of Education agreed to terminate a lease agreement signed with the town of Susan Moore on March 3, 2008. The board approved the termination at its regular meeting held Monday.

Control of the park will now revert back to the town, although the Susan Moore High School baseball and softball teams will continue to use the park this spring.

In other business, the board acted on the recommendation of Supt. Jim Carr and:

•accepted the resignation of Teresa Kirkland, instructional aide at J.B. Pennington High and Blountsville Elementary, and James S. Mitchell, custodian at Locust Fork Fork High. Kirkland’s resignation is effective immediately while Mitchell’s resignation is effective March 25.

•allowed J.B. Pennington to host a youth baseball camp at Blountsville City Park on Dec. 19. The purpose of the camp was to raise funds for the school’s baseball program.Volunteers Jason Edwards and Corey Stephens were each paid a $100 honorarium from the proceeds of the camp for their work.

•approved Mark Allen Hornbuckle as a non-compensated volunteer at Locust Fork High during the 2009-2010 school year.

•contracted with Darren J. Butler to serve as a writing consultant to teachers and students at Blountsville Elementary from Jan. 4, 2010, to Sept. 30, 2010. He will be paid $400 per day, not to exceed a total of $2800, from Title I ARRA FY2010 funds.

•allowed Appalachian High to pay Kateland West to teach pageant dances to 7th- through 12th-grade students participating in the 2010 Miss AHS Pageant. She will be paid $6 per student, not to exceed a total of $306, from the school’s local funds.

•contracted with the State Department of Education to purchase two used Ford Taurus/Dodge Stratus/ Chevrolet Impala vehicles from the state’s motor pool. The vehicles will be used for driver education purposes and the contract runs through Sept. 30, 2010.

•employed long-term substitute teachers Martha Denise Smith (Blountsville Elementary), Tracey Aloia Shockney (Locust Fork High), and Teresa C. Kirkland (Susan Moore Elementary); certified occupational therapy assistant Charity Bryan Williams (for the system); and science teacher Ryan Fogg (Cleveland High).

•approved the 2009-2010 textbook committee.

•allowed Aimee Thompson to conduct her apprenticeship with the cosmetology department at the Blount County Career Tech Center to fulfill the requirements for an instructor’s license.

•contracted with Theresa Black, Ginger Chappell, Kimberly Harbison, Gretchen Kelley, Cheryl D. Lyles, Greg Lyles, Billie Miller, Megan Newman, Tracey Shockney, Kristy Thomas, and Julia Wall to provide after-school counseling for at-risk students at Hayden Primary through May 28, 2010. Each will be paid $20 per hour, not to exceed $384.70 each, from ARRA funds.

•contracted with Cheryl Harris to provide psychsocial assessments to students referred through the Early Intervention Programs through Sept. 30, 2010. She will be paid $100 per assessment, not to exceed $1000, fro Title IV FY2010 funds.

•contracted with Melissa Bush, Donna Hicks, Conny Lowery, Glenn Puckett, and Christy Stidham to provide night school instruction from Feb. 2 through April 30, 2010. Each will be paid at their daily rate as determined by enrollment, not to exceed $3000 from night school tuition.

•contracted with Gracyn Gammon, Kelsey Morrison, and Erin Puckett to provide night school tutoring from Feb. 2 through April 30, 2010. Each will be paid $10 per hour, not to exceed $1000, from night school tuition.

•awarded the Child Nutrition Program bid for food items to Osborn Brothers Inc. for $462,376.09, and contracted with the company through June 5, 2010.

Finally, the board amended the 2009-2010 annual salary schedule to include a schedule for a certified occupational therapist and occupational therapist assistant.

Present at the Jan. 4 meeting were Carr, board members Andy Neill, Gregg Armstrong, Chris Latta, and Craig Johnson, assistant superintendent Rodney Green, board secretary Karla Latham, and several visitors.