Calvert elected to second term; Palmer moves on to general election

Here is a list of the winners of all races included on the ballot for the July 15 Republican runoff election. Following the list is a chart showing the actual polling results in each race for Blount County, compared to the statewide or district-wide totals. A precinct-by-precinct matrix of county voting totals is also shown.

Of those races shown, three will face Democratic opposition in the general election Nov. 4: John Merrill will face Lula Albert-Kaigler for Secretary of State; Jim Zeigler will face Miranda Karrine Joseph for State Auditor; and Gary Palmer will face Avery Vise for U.S. Congress District 6.

Other state offices to be contested by Democrats in November include Governor, Lt. Governor, Attorney General, Commissioner of Agriculture, Treasurer, and State Board of Education Place 4. State offices

Secretary of State: John Merrill (faces Democratic opposition in general election)

State Auditor: Jim Ziegler (faces Democratic opposition in general election)

Public Service Commission: Chip Beeker (elected) State and federal legislative offices

State Senate District 17: Shay Shelnutt (elected; no Democratic opposition in general election)

U.S. House District 6: Gary Palmer (faces Democratic opposition in general election Elected to Blount County office

Commission District 3: Dean Calvert