Bryson retires as system financial officer

The Blount County Board of Education accepted the retirement resignation of longtime chief financial officer Marcena Bryson at last week’s meeting.

Bryson, who has spent 24 years as the system’s director of funds, will remain on the job through the end of July.

In other personnel matters, the board accepted resignations from Hayden High English teacher Chaney Bowers; Hayden Middle teacher Morgan Ozier; and Blountsville Elementary teacher Laura Tedder.

The board also accepted the retirement resignation of Hayden Middle teacher Rachel White.

The board voted to hire the following teachers: Joey Kirby, industrial maintenance, Blount County Career Tech Center; Brittney Henderson, English language arts, Hayden Middle; Bart Landon Ellis, science, Locust Fork High; Christopher McCay, physical education, Southeastern; Christopher Youngman, Susan Moore Elementary; and DaNeal Huber, systemwide gifted specialist.

Transferred were: Locust Fork bus driver Jacob Sandlin to Blountsville; instructional aide Amy Gunn to business technology teacher, Southeastern; Locust Fork Elementary special education teacher Glenn Martin to the Blount County Learning Center; Locust Fork bus driver John McRae to Southeastern; and Hayden Elementary custodian Melissa Bridges to the position of bus driver.

The board also hired the following support personnel: Ella Kimdelane Martin, school bus aide, Blount County Learning Center; Mauriann Boatright, Child Nutrition Program, Locust Fork High; and Tanya J. McCray, parent liaison/instructional aide, Southeastern.

In other business, the board acted on the recommendation of Supt. Jim Carr and:

•approved the transfer of two students to the Jefferson County system. The board assumes no liability in relation to the releases.

•approved the handbooks of Hayden Elementary and Southeastern School and the Blount County Student Code of Conduct.

•agreed to pay Rhonda Washburn for 10 additional days during the 2014-2015 school year to help maintain the C2C information system used by the Alabama High School Athletic Association (AHSAA) for J.B. Pennington High. She will be paid at her daily rate and the school will be responsible for payment from its athletic accounts.

•appointed the following as school technology coaches: Lisa Whittington, Appalachian; Rosa Noles, Blount County Career Tech Center; Courtney Whitehead, Blountsville Elmentary; Angela Beasley, Cleveland Elementary; Tammy Thigpen, Cleveland High/Learning Center; Jennifer Peterson, Hayden Primary; Monica Moorer, Hayden Elementary; Casondra Edwards, Hayden High; Rebecca Maniscalco, Hayden Middle; Wendi Smith, Locust Fork Elementary; Tim Clevenger, Locust Fork High; Greg Neill, J.B. Pennington; Marla Hitt, Southeastern; Lynn Miller, Susan Moore Elementary; and Katrina Jennings, Susan Moore High. Each will receive a $1,500 annual supplement from Title II, FY2015 funds.

•awarded Child Nutrition Program bids for food items and chemicals to Osborn Brothers Inc. A copy of the bid information is on file in the superintendent’s office.

•amended the board’s authorization resolution to grant power to employees of the board to perform banking services.

•contracted with Community Action Partnership of North Alabama Inc. (Head Start) for the 2014-2015 school year to coordinate related services to diagnosed disabled eligible children in the county district.

•hired Alan Conaway and Jason Tidwell to assist with Cleveland High’s band camp. Each will be paid $400 from the school’s band booster funds.

•hired Nicholas Chad Tyler to assist with Hayden High’s band camp. He will be paid $1,000 from the school’s band booster funds.

Finally, the board contracted with ProCare Therapy for services for the 2014-2015 school year.

Present at the July 8 meeting were board members Bruce McAfee, Jackie Sivley, Chris Latta, Ken Benton, and William Ferry, Carr, Bryson, assistant superintendent Rodney Green, board secretary Karla Latham and several visitors.