Amaryllis awards



On Wednesday, Oct. 16, members of Blount County’s Amaryllis Garden Club attended the District II Fall Garden Club meeting held at the DeSoto Country Club in Fort Payne. The Amaryllis Garden Club came away as the winner of the fall tablescape event while there. As a result, a scholarship will be awarded in the name of the club to Auburn University in one of the following majors: horticulture, agriculture, or forestry. Members Hahn Rainey, Andi Page, and Sue Brewer are to be commended for their efforts.

Amaryllis also received the following

2018 awards: Civic Development First Place, Christmas Lights & Holiday Houses-Second Place, and Club of Distinction. For the Distinction award, clubs are rated on 35 items and points are assigned accordingly. Amaryllis received 98 out of 100 points.

Pictured are front row: Kathy Durrett (vice president); back row: Nancy Murray, Frances Frengel (president), Andi Page, Hahn Rainey, Shelia Bicknell (treasurer), Sara Holloway, and Linda Millwood. Members not present: Margaret Galloway, Mickey Hawkins, and Sue Brewer.