All Region football teams named

Logan Washburn - Cleveland -Keith Standridge

Logan Washburn – Cleveland -Keith Standridge

It’s been a few weeks since the Alabama High School Athletic Association crowned its state football champions. Over the past couple of weeks, coaches have been working to finalize the 2020 All Region teams.

Blount County’s football teams gave fans many exciting moments throughout the season. There were many stand-out playmakers at all positions.

Hayden senior RB Carson Rickels broke the school’s single season rushing record with 1,686 yards on 218 carries and 25 touchdowns, also a school record. The Wildcat defense was led by Taylor McAdams, Braden Hodges, and Korbin Register. Despite missing three games, McAdams, a junior, ended the season with 88 tackles. Hodges ended his Wildcat career with 62 tackles while Register finished up with 50 plus seven tackles for loss.

For the Panthers,, junior QB Logan Washburn threw for 1,468 yards and 18 touchdowns while rushing for another 956 yards and 13 touchdowns. Their running game was anchored by senior RB Daquarrius Phillips who scored 15 TDs on his way to a season total of 1,129 yards. Defensively, junior LB Karter Adams led all tacklers throughout the county with 131 total tackles on the season.

Carson Rickels - Hayden -Micayla Rickels

Carson Rickels – Hayden -Micayla Rickels

Coming in with the second most tackles was Oneonta’s junior LB Luke Hodge with 108. He also had 15 tackles for a loss. Junior RB Collin Moon finished the season in second place on the county leader board for rushing. In 10 games, he racked up 1,410 yards on 204 carries and scored 17 touchdowns.

For the J.B. Pennington Tigers, senior WR Sawyer Heptinstall was a huge part of the team’s success this season. He finished with 94 receptions for 1,193 yards and 12 touchdowns. Senior QB Hayden Floyd racked up a total of 2,520 yards with 27 touchdowns. He passed for 2,091 and 24 TDs and ran for another 430 with three TDs. The Tiger defense was anchored by senior LB John Williams with 107 tackles, 20 for a loss.

Southeastern’s Kevin Juhola capped off a stellar high school career with 49 tackles, seven assists, 10 sacks, and 14 tackles for a loss. He also rushed for 220 yards on 51 carries scoring five TDs. Junior RB Noah McCray finished with 613 yards and five TDs on the ground while senior QB Trent Carpenter ran for 635 yards with three touchdowns. He passed for another 793 yards and five touchdowns.

Luke Hodge - Oneonta

Luke Hodge – Oneonta

Appalachian dealt with a slew of injuries throughout the season. Despite missing some playing time due to a leg injury, junior QB Chase Payne still broke the 1,000-yard mark on his way to 11 passing touchdowns. He rushed for another eight adding 621 yards to his season total. Defensively, Joey Williams led the charge with 53 tackles, three sacks, and six and a half tackles for a loss.

In what was anything but a normal season for the Locust Fork Hornets, they made the most of every opportunity each time they took the field. In six games, senior RB Ben Oden rushed for 840 yards on 94 carries scoring 11 touchdowns. Senior QB Lukas Huber threw for 1,090 and 10 touchdowns in those six games.

Sawyer Heptinstall - J.B. Pennington -JBP Football

Sawyer Heptinstall – J.B. Pennington -JBP Football

Derek Doty was key to the Susan Moore Bulldog offense this season. He rushed for 762 yards and seven touchdowns and had seven receptions for another 95 yards and a score. On defense, DB Jose Calderon led the way with 66 tackles, one TFL, and one interception. Linebacker Zach Smith was close with 64 tackles, two TFL, and one interception.

Congratulations to all those selected for All Region!

1A Region 7: Appalachian
First Team:
QB Chase Payne
RB/DB Bryson Seawright
OL/DL Joey Williams
Second Team:
WR/DB Garrett Helms
WR/LB Aiden Driggers
OL/DL Damian Zavala
2A Region 6: Cleveland, Locust Fork, and
Offensive Player of the Year: Logan Washburn, CHS
Defensive Player of the Year: Kevin Juhola, SEHS
First Team:
RB Daquarrius Phillips, CHS
RB Ben Oden, LFHS
RB Noah McCray, SEHS
WR Pierce Gilliland, CHS
WR Brody Dobbins, SEHS
OL Jackson Weems, LFHS
OL, Sterling Hill, CHS
OL Omar Uriostegui, SEHS
DL Kyle Willis, CHS
DL Jordan Jackson, SEHS
LB Justin Pendleton, SEHS
LB Karter Adams, CHS
LB Christian Patterson, LFHS
OLB Luis Saucedo, CHS
OLB Tim Holt, LFHS
DB Skylar Self, CHS
DB Lukas Huber, LFHS
Athlete Trent Carpenter, SEHS
K Jonathan Hernandez, CHS
P Kevin Arzate, SEHS
Honorable Mention:
OL Christian Alvarado, SEHS
WO Ben Hall, SEHS
OL Kane Leggett, SEHS
RB Jacorreon Pendleton, SEHS
TE Walter Readus, SEHS
RB Cole Williams, SEHS
OL Sean Harper, LFHS
LB Austin Pavolini, LFHS
DL Trevor Johnson, LFHS
DB John Colafrancesco, LFHS
WR Dylan Embry, LFHS
WR J.J. Boatright, LFHS
DB Jonathan Burgett, LFHS
3A Region 6: J.B. Pennington and Susan Moore
Offensive Player of the Year: Sawyer Heptinstall, JBPHS
First Team:
QB Hayden Floyd, JBPHS
WR Jaxon Timmerman, JBPHS
TE Tanner Nolen, SMHS
OL Jackson Millwood, JBPHS
OL Ethan Walker, SMHS
DL Chris Allred, JBPHS
DL J.D. Prickett, SMHS
DL Reuben Atwood, JBPHS
LB John Williams, JBPHS
DB Matthew Frost, JBPHS
DB Jose Calderon, SMHS
Athlete Derrick Doty, SMHS
P Matthew Smith, JBPHS
Honorable Mention:
WR Jake Mardis, JBPHS
OL Zach Schultze, JBPHS
OL Nate Landman, SMHS
DL J.P. Graves, JBPHS
DL Nick Calderon, SMHS
LB Paris Malone, JBPHS
LB Zach Smith, SMHS
DB Dawson Tinker, JBPHS
DB Fabian Mejia, JBPHS
DB Axel Calderon, SMHS
K Jose Serrano, JBPHS
4A Region 6: Oneonta
Defensive Player of the Year: Luke Hodge
First Team:
QB Connor Faust
RB Collin Moon
WR Eli Buse
OL Collier McPherson
LB Beau Ragsdale
DB Wil Robertson
P Beau Ragsdale
Second Team:
WR Riley McGill
OL Cayden Kritner
Athlete Damarian Bothwell
DL Kobe Harper
OLB Cameron Dailey
Honorable Mention:
DB/PK Angel Marquez
OL Braden Taylor
DB Jexton Johnson
DL Andrew Beck
DL Jacob Handley
5A Region 6: Hayden
Super All Region Team:
DB Collin Chappell
OL Korbin Register
RB Carson Rickles
All Region Team:
DB Collin Chappell
OL Korbin Register
RB Carson Rickles
K Jacob Dowd
Honorable Mention:
DB Braden Hodges
LB Taylor McAdams
OL Justin Hall

Kevin Juhola - Southeastern -Jeff Sargent

Kevin Juhola – Southeastern -Jeff Sargent