Active final week of qualifying adds one new local candidate, multitude for federal, state jobs

Last Friday, Feb. 7, the final day for qualifying for the June 3 primary election, a single additional candidate qualified for county office. Ten additional candidates qualified for two legislative jobs – five for each – one a state position and one federal.

Kevin Price of Nectar qualified to run for Blount County Sheriff, bringing the number of candidates for that position to three. When the dust settled after Friday’s deadline, a total of seven candidates had qualified to run for each of two legislative jobs affecting Blount County: U.S. House of Representatives, District 6 (formerly held by Spencer Bachus, who resigned last year), and State Senate, District 17 (formerly held by Scott Beason, who resigned last week).

Two of four other members of the county’s current legislative delegation picked up opposition. Connie Cooner Rowe of Jasper qualified to oppose Rep. Bill Roberts in House District 13. Wade D. Taylor qualified to run against Sen. Clay Scofield in Senate District 9. Two members of the delegation – Rep. Randall Shedd of House District 11, and Rep. David Standridge of House District 34 – remain unopposed. Will Ainsworth of Guntersville is the sole candidate who qualified to run for the House District 27 seat, left vacant by Rep. Wes Long’s resignation.

The accompanying chart gives the final list of candidates who qualified as Republicans for elective positions directly affecting Blount County. No Democratic candidate qualified for any

of these offices.
County offices
Loyd Arrington (I)
Mike Crawford
Kevin Price

Commissioner, District 1
Allen Armstrong (I)

Commissioner, District 3
Dean Calvert (I)
Pat Bryant
Pat Hyde

Revenue Commissioner
Gregg Armstrong (I)
Ann Self

Blount County Board of Education,
District 3
Bruce McAfee (I)
Magen Horton-Stewart

John Mark Vaughn (I)
LaShone Price

State offices
State Representative, District 11
Randall Shedd (I)

State Representative, District 13
Bill Roberts (I)
Connie Cooner Rowe

State Representative, District 27
Will Ainsworth

State Representative, District 34
David Standridge (I)

State Senator, District 9
Clay Scofield (I)
Wade D. Taylor

State Senator, District 17
Jim Murphree
Shay Shelnutt
Gayle Gear
Brett King
Adam Ritch
Joe Cochran
Jim Roberts

Federal office
U.S. House of Representatives, District 6
(includes Blount County)
Chad Mathis
Paul DeMarco
Will Brooke
Gary Palmer
Tom Vigneulle
Robert Shattuck
Scott Beason (I) = Incumbent