About People

FRIENDS OF THE LOCUST FORK RIVER announces winners of the 2021 Friend of the River Scholarship. Lizbeth Piceno: first place, $1,200, Susan Moore High School senior, attending UAB.

Layla Harbison: second place, $800,
Hayden High School senior, attending
Auburn University.
Savannah Painter: third place (tie),
$500, Hayden High School senior,
attending UNA.
Emma Knowles: third place (tie),
$500, homeschool senior, attending
Mississippi College.
Raigan Smith: honorable mention,
Appalachian High School senior,
attending JSU.

GADSDEN STATE COMMUNITY COLLEGE announces students who recently earned membership in the Rho Rho Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society.

Anna Moore of Altoona
Rocio Aragon-Vasquez of Horton
Susana Alvarado and Allyson Mauldin
of Oneonta

CHRISTINA BLOCKER of Cleveland was named to Southern New Hampshire University’s Winter 2021 President’s List. To qualify, full-time students must earn at least a 3.7 GPA while earning 12 credits.

SNEAD STATE COMMUNITY COLLEGE held its RN pinning ceremony May 4. Members of the Snead State RN Class of 2021 are:

Jennifer Steifel, Nikki Vaughn, Andrea Willett, and Monica Hensley of
Brittany Vaughan of Blountsville
Adriana Villanueva of Oneonta