About People



Wallace State honors

Among the 198 students named to the Wallace State Community College President’s and Dean’s lists for the summer 2020 semester are students from Blount County. To earn a spot on the President’s List, students must maintain a 4.0 GPA while taking a course load of 12 or more hours. Placement on the Dean’s List requires a 3.5 GPA while taking a course load of at least 12 hours.

President’s List

Blountsville: Madison Butts, Miranda Graves, Bobby Morris, Mario Pablo Ralios, Ben Smith

Cleveland: Jacob Keisler

Hayden: Kevin Butler, Stuart Greer, Heaven Randolph, Kiera Thrasher

Locust Fork: Austin Hallmark

Oneonta: Francisco Cabello, Catherine Hutchens, Meagan Painter, Wanda Schaeffler, Adrian White

Remlap: McKenzie Maddox

Snead: Jacob Kelly

Springville: Joshua Apodaca, Mikel Cowen, Rachel Greene

Warrior: Stella Harris, Timothy Lawson, Zoey Scheetz, Haley Self-Tumlin

Dean’s List

Altoona: Micah Ogles, Michelle Smith

Blountsville: Deysi Rodriguez

Hayden: Demico Fields, Steven Wadsworth

Horton: Dylan Brockman

Oneonta: Lucas Hartzog, Miranda Hodges, Skylar Kyle, Victoria New, Alandra Simrell

Remlap: Kelli Borella

Springville: Jackson Hendrix

Warrior: Hannah Goodwin, Heather Lawrence, Isaac Martin, Adam Myrick

Education Retirees Association

The Blount County Education Retirees Association handed out masks (right) donated by AEA and goodie bags donated by Charlie B’s Restaurant while collecting membership dues at Lester Memorial United Methodist Church. Pictured, from left, are: Stanley Moss, Denisha Blackwell, Margaret Hudson, and Lois Baty. All retired educators and education support personnel are welcome to join. Email aminniep492@yahoo.com for more information.

Snead State honors

Snead State Community College announces its President’s and Dean’s List for the summer 2020 semester. To be eligible for the President’s List, students must maintain a 4.0 GPA and be enrolled for 12 or more credit hours. To be eligible for the Dean’s List, students must hold a minimum 3.5 to 3.99 GPA and be enrolled for 12 or more credit hours.

President’s List

Altoona: Haven E. Ellison, Madison Marie Pryor

Dean’s List

Altoona: Jacob Peppers

Horton: Arnold Ivan Ramos