An online subscription is required to view the most recent issue of the Blount Countian
on this website. To purchase an online subscription, please use our online order form.

2014-01-08 / Front Page


Early look at offices on the ballot
by Ron Gholson

2014 is a big election year with candidates for election/ re-election at all levels: federal, state, and county government. Blount Countians will vote for one U.S. Senator, the District 6 candidate for the U.S. House of Representatives, four members of the state Legislature (two senators and four members of the House of Representatives in total, though each voter will vote for only one of each), seven state constitutional officers, and six county officers. Qualifying deadline changes

Qualifying dates for candidates who intend to run are Jan. 13 to Feb. 7 for Republicans and Jan. 13 (pending State Democratic Executive Committee approval) to Feb. 7 for Democrats. Alabama Secretary of State Jim Bennett recently announced that the qualifying deadline is Feb. 7 instead of April 4, as originally scheduled.

The primary election is set for June 3 this year, with a runoff on July 15, if needed. The general election is Nov. 4.

County offices
Office Incumbent
Sheriff Loyd Arrington
Revenue Commissioner Gregg Armstrong
County Commissioner, District 1 Allen Armstrong
County Commissioner, District 3 Dean Calvert
Coroner John Mark Vaughn
Blount County Board of Education, Bruce McAfee
District 3 (Susan Moore)
All incumbents for county office have indicated their intention to run for re-election.

State Legislature
Office Incumbent
House of Representatives, District 34 David Standridge
House of Representatives, District 11 Randall Shedd
House of Representatives, District 13 Bill Roberts
House of Representatives, District 27 Wes Long
Incumbents for Districts 34, 11, and 13 are running for re-election. Wes Long of
District 27, including the Summit and Rock Springs precincts in northern Blount
County, is not.

Office Incumbent
State Senate, District 9 Clay Scofield
State Senate, District 17 Scott Beason
Both District 9 Sen. Clay Scofield and District 17 Sen. Scott Beason are running
for re-election.

Alabama state offices
Office Incumbent
Governor Robert Bentley
Lieutenant Governor Kay Ivey
Attorney General Luther Strange
Secretary of State Jim Bennett
State Auditor Samantha Shaw
State Treasurer Young Boozer
State Commissioner, Agriculture/Industry John McMillan
Bentley, Ivey, Strange, Boozer, and McMillan are running for re-election. Bennett and
Shaw are not.

U.S. Senate
Office Incumbent
U.S. Senator Jeff Sessions
Sessions is running for reelection. The other U.S. Senate office, held by Sen. Richard
Shelby, is not due until the election of 2016.

U.S. House of Representatives
Office Incumbent
District 6 Representative Spencer Bachus
Bachus is retiring, thus not running for re-election.

Return to top